COUNTY SOCIAL SERVICES 28E GOVERNING BOARD MINUTES

The April CSS meeting was held at the North Iowa Vocational Center in Mason City Iowa. Phil Dougherty introduced Sherry Becker who gave an overview of the services offered by NIVC.

1. Chairman Joel Voaklander called the meeting to order and introductions were made.

Present were: Craig White, Black Hawk County, Mark Reiher, Butler County, Larry Gibbs, Clayton County, Phillip Dougherty, Cerro Gordo County, Rick Holthaus, Chickasaw County, Jeanine Tellin, Fayette County, Roy Schwickerath, Floyd County, Ted Hall, Hancock, Mark Kubik, Howard County, Jerry Haverly, Humboldt County, Don Besch, Kossuth County, Joel Voaklander, Mitchell County, Vince Triggs, Pocahontas County, Larry Vest, Tama County, Clark Fletcher, Webster County, Willie Wubben, Winnebago County, Floyd Ashbacker, Winneshiek County, Ken Abrams, Worth County, Karl Helgevold, Wright County.

Not Present: Dennis Koenig, Allamakee County and Jim Ross Grundy

Guests: John Logsdon Winneshiek County, Mary Beth Nelson, Jodi Draper, Karen Dowell, Dona Nielsen, Terri Kuntz, Chalsea Carroll, jean Gage, Carol Keune, Sandra Mireles, Jan Heikes, Simone Schmitt, Tori Reicherts, Brad Leckrone, Jean McAleer, Ken Hays, Doug Wilson, Cathy Gatton, Todd Rickert, Lori Byers, Sherry Becker

- 2. Motion by Mark Reiher and seconded by Jerry Haverly to approve the agenda and minutes from the March 27th, 2013 meeting. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion by Craig White and seconded by Mark Reiher to reimburse to Center Associates of Marshalltown \$8,788.90 for technical assistance provided to Tama County Mental Health Center. Motion carried. Larry Vest Tama County abstained in voting.
- 4. Motion by Clark Fletcher and second by Jeannine Tellin to approve the updated 28 E agreement per new legal requirements of Iowa Code 2012 331.390. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion by Ken Abrams and seconded by Phil Dougherty to designate the WHW Advisory Committee a regional advisory group under County Social Services
- 5a.Motion by Larry Vest and seconded by Vince Triggs to have the following Advisory Boards designated with in the region. From within those advisory boards an adhoc member shall be chosen to serve on the CSS board. This candidate will be selected to serve on the County Social Services Board by July 1, 2013. The following boards are within the region:

WHW Advisory Board
DHS CM Advisory Board
Winneshiek County MHDS Citizens' Advisory Board
Fayette County Advisory Board
North Central Iowa Advisory Board
Webster County Advisory Board

Chickasaw County Mental Health Advisory Board Chickasaw Mitchell County TCM Advisory Board Kossuth County GR/MH and TCM Advisory Board Allamakee County MHDS Citizens' Advisory Board Tama County Advisory Board Grundy County Advisory Board Howard County Advisory Board Floyd County Advisory Board DHS Case Management Advisory Board

Motion carried.

- 6. Motion by Jerry Haverly and second by Rick Holthaus to approve the Community Service Investment Policy. Motion carried.
- 7. Motion by Willie Wubben and seconded by Mark Kubick to approve the Targeted Case Management Designation Policy. Motion carried.
- 8. Motion by Clark Fletcher and seconded by Larry Gibbs to approve the contract for service and business agreement with Therap at a rate of \$120 per active client per year. Motion carried.
- 9. Motion by Mark Reiher and second by Clark Fletcher to approve an all staff planning session May 3rd, 20123 conducted by Dr. Ken Minkoff. This will help to develop a business plan for the Boards review by July 1, 2013. Motion carried.
- 10. Motion by Rick Holthaus and second by Ken Abrams to approve the County Social Services monthly budget projection and financial. Motion carried.
- 10a. Motion by Don Besch and second by Vince Triggs to approve the program report as presented. Motion carried.
- 11. Motion by Roy Roy Schwickerath and second by Craig White to approve the claims runs in the amount of \$1,278,519.20. Motion carried.
- 12. Motion by Clark Fletcher and second by Jerry Haverly to approve the provider rate request as presented. Motion approved.
- 13. Motion by Phil Dougherty and second by Clark Fletcher to approve funding on behalf of an enrolled individual for reimbursement of legal assistance not to exceed \$425 to establish a guardianship and \$75 to petition the court or assist with an annual report related to an guardianship. Motion carried.
- 14. Discussion on reimbursement for photographs for the website. This died for lack of motion and group pictures will be taken for the site.
- 15. Motion by Larry Vest and Mark Reiher to authorize the Chair to sign provider agreements with the following agencies also to authorize the Sheriff to authorize reimbursement for court ordered ambulance transportation up to \$500.00 if medical necessary. Motion carried.
 - a. Connect America
 - b. G & G Living Centers Inc.

- c. Scenic Acres
- d. TASC
- e. Tri-State Regional Ambulance Inc.
- f. Alternative Treatment Associates
- g. Boyle Counseling and Consulting LLC
- h. Met Transit Authority of Black Hawk County
- i. Black Hawk County Hospital Referee
- 16. No exception to policy was presented.
- 17. Administrator Lincoln gave an overview of the following project reports
 - a. Legislation
 - b. Assertive Community Treatment Teams
 - c. Tele-psychiatry
 - d. 24/7 MH Assessment Program
 - e Friendship Center
 - f. Residential Care Facility Transitions
 - g. Crisis Stabilization for Children
- 18. Motion was made by Mark Reiher and second by Craig White to adjourn. Motion carried. Next meeting will be May 22nd in Chickasaw County, Community Services Building meeting room, 260 East Prospect in New Hampton.